Democratic Republic of the Congo Government System

Background

The Democratic Republic of the Congo is a republic, meaning the people democratically elect a represent to act and vote on legislation on their behalf. However, due to conflicts and corruption, elections are often unfair, or have inaccurate outcomes due to cheating.

The 2006 presidential elections were the first multiparty election held in over 40 years. Previous elections had only one candidate, Mobutu Sese Seko, the authoritarian president at the time. There was just a yes or no option.

The Democratic Republic of the Congo is divided into 10 provinces and 1 capital city (Kinshasa).

Constitution

The constitution of the Democratic Republic of the Congo was established in 1960 upon the country's independence from Belgian rule. It was originally based on the Constitution of Belgium.

It has since been changed and/or replaced several times.

The current constitution is the sixth constitution since 1960. It was put into effect on February 18, 2006 by current president, Joseph Kabila.

Political Parties

- Christian Democrat Party (PDC)
- Congolese Rally for Democracy (RCD)
- Convention of Christian Democrats (CDC)
 Forces of Renewal (FR)
- Movement for the Liberation of the Congo (MLC)
 People's Party for Reconstruction and Democracy
- (PPRD)
- Social Movement for Renewal (MSR)
- Unified Lumumbist Party (PALU)
- Union for the Congolese Nation (UNC)
- Union for Democracy and Social Progress (UDPS)
- Union of Mobutuist Democrats (UDEMO)

Government

Legislative

The Chief of State is the president, who is directly elected by a majority vote for a 5-year term.

Executive

The head of government is the prime minister, who is appointed by the president. The president then appoints Ministers of State as the cabinet.

The current president is Joseph Kabila, who was reelected in 2011, but there was speculation that the results were illegitimate.

The DRC has a bicameral Parliament consisting of the Senate and the National Assembly.

The Senate has 108 seats, members are indirectly elected, and serve 5 year terms.

The National Assembly has 500 seats, members are directly elected and serve 5 year terms. The highest courts in the nation are the Supreme Court of Justice and the Constitutional Court.

The Supreme Court of Justice is split into legislative and judiciary sections and has 26 justices, who are nominated by the Judicial Service Council.

The Constitutional Court has 9 judges. 3 judges are appointed by the president, 3 by the Judicial Service Council, and 3 by the legislature. The judges appointed by the president serve a 9-year non-renewable term.

